Core Faculty & Staff


Institute Administrators


Elizabeth Armstrong, PhD
Faculty Image

Clinical Professor of Pediatrics
Director of Harvard Macy Institute
Harvard Medical School

100 Cambridge St.
Boston, Massachusetts 02114
617 535 6416
617 535 6442
elizabeth_armstrong@hms.harvard.edu


Teresa Cushing, MEd
Faculty Image

Program Manager
Harvard Medical School

Harvard Macy Institute
Boston, Massachusetts 02114
(617) 535-6409
(617) 535-6442
teresa_cushing@hms.harvard.edu


Todd Fowler
Faculty Image

Program Manager
Harvard Macy Institute

100 Cambridge Street
Boston, MA 02114
617.535.6483

todd_fowler@hms.harvard.edu



Program Leaders


Thomas Aretz, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Vice President
Partners HealthCare International

100 Cambridge Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02114
617-535-6427
617.535-6410
taretz@partners.org


Constance Bowe, MD
Faculty Image

Professor Emeritus
Partners HealthCare International

8 Bayview Ave
South Dartmouth, Massachusetts 02748
(530) 220-3096

cmbowe@partners.org


Clayton Christensen, DBA
Faculty Image

Robert & Jane Cizik Professor of Business Administration
Harvard Business School

Morgan Hall 143
Boston, 02136
617 4956723

cchristensen@hbs.harvard.edu


Robert Kegan, PhD
Faculty Image

William & Miriam Meehan Professor fo Adult Learning and Professional Development
Harvard Graduate School of Education

Longfellow Hall 205
Cambridge, 02138
617 495 1963

keganro@gse.harvard.edu


Louis Pangaro
Faculty Image

Professor
Chair, Department of Medicine
Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences

MED USUHS
Bethesda, Maryland 20814-4799
301 295 2010
301 295 5792
louispangaro@aol.com



Core Faculty


Eugene Corbett, Jr., MD
Faculty Image

Professor Emeritus
University of Virginia School of Medicine

Box 800901 UVA HSC
Charlottesville, Virginia 22908
434-924-1685
434-243-9282
ecc9h@virginia.edu


Bruce Donoff, MD, DMD,, FACS
Faculty Image

Professor
Dean
Harvard School of Dental Medicine

Harvard School of Dental Medicine188 Longwood Avenue
Boston, Massachusetts 02115
432.1401
432.4266
bruce_donoff@hsdm.harvard.edu


Susan Farrell, MD
Faculty Image

Assistant Professor, Medicine
Education Consultant, Partners Healthcare Systems
Harvard Medical School

c/o 75 Francis St.
Boston, Massachusetts 02115
617-732-5640
617-264-6848
sefarrell@partners.org


Steve Field
Faculty Image

Professor
Chief Inspector of General Practice
Care Quality Commission

Finsbury Tower
London, England EC1Y 8TG
+447725498364

steve.field@nhs.net


Elizabeth Gaufberg, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor of Medicine and Psychiatry, Harvard Medical School
Director of Professional Development, The Cambridge Health Alliance
Harvard Medical School

1493 Cambridge St
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139
617 665 3101
617 665 3553
elizabeth_gaufberg@hms.harvard.edu


Stuart Goldman, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Medical Educator
Harvard Medical School

300 longwood ave
boston, Massachusetts 02115
617.355.6745
617.730.0428
stuart.goldman@childrens.harvard.edu


James Gordon, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor of Medicine (Emergency Medicine)
Director, Gilbert Program in Medical Simulation
Harvard Medical School

Department of Emergency Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts 02114-2696
617-726-7622
617-724-0917
jgordon3@partners.org


David Hirsh, MD
Faculty Image

Assistant Professor
Director
Harvard Medical School

CHA/ TCH Medical Specialties
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139
617-665-3132
617-665-1925
dhirsh@challiance.org


Eric Holmboe, MD
Faculty Image

Senior Vice-president of Quality Research and Academic Affairs
American Board of Internal Medicine

510 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
215-446-3633

eholmboe@abim.org


Dan Hunt, MD
Faculty Image

Secretary, LCME 2008-2009
Association of American Medical Colleges

140 12th Street, N.E.
Washington, District of Columbia 20002
202 828 0596
202 828 1125
dhunt@aamc.org


Myra Hurt, PhD
Faculty Image

Professor of Biomedical Sciences
Senior Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs
Florida State University School of Medicine

College of Medicine Florida State University
Tallahassee, Florida 32306-4300
850.644.8935
850.645.7153
myra.hurt@med.fsu.edu


Reena Karani, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Director, Clinical Curriculum and Assessment
Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Mount Sinai Medical Center Box 1070, 1 Gustave Levy Place
New York, New York 10029
917 919 7937,212 241 1305
212 860 9737
reena.karani@mssm.edu


Alan Leichtner, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor
Division/Department Head/Chief
Harvard Medical School

300 Longwood Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
617-355-4723

alan.leichtner@childrens.harvard.edu


Stefan Lindgren
Faculty Image

Professor
President, World Federation of Medical Education
Lund University Medical School

Lund University
SE 221 00 Lund,
46-40-332306
46-40-33-62-08
stefan.lindgren@med.lu.se


Karen Mann, PhD
Faculty Image

Professor Emeritus
Dalhousie University School of Medicine

Clinical Research Center Room C1125849 University Avenue
Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 4H7
902-494-2234 or 430-6994
902-494-2278
karen.mann@dal.ca


Graham McMahon, MD
Faculty Image

Associate Professor of Medicine
Fellowship Program Director
Brigham an Women's Hospital

221 Longwood Avenue
Boston, Massachusetts 02115
617-732-5704
617-732-5764
gmcmahon@partners.org


Neil Mehta
Faculty Image

Associate Professor of Medicine
Director, Education Technology
Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve University

NA2-108 9500 Euclid Ave
Cleveland, OH 44195
2164456512

mehtan@ccf.org


John Norcini, PhD
Faculty Image

President and Chief Executive Officer
Foundation for the Advancement of Medical Education and Research

3624 Market St.
Philadelphia, PA 19104
215 386 9767

jnorcini@faimer.org


Roy Phitayakorn
Faculty Image

Assistant Instructor
Director of Surgical Education Research
The Massachusetts General Hospital

36 A Street
South Boston, MA 02127
(216) 374-3349
617-724-3951
rphitayakorn@partners.org


Subha Ramani
Faculty Image

Assistant Professor of Medicine
Director of Medicine Residency Evaluation,
Harvard Medical School


Boston, Massachusetts


sramani@partners.org


Thomas Viggiano, MD
Faculty Image

Professor
Associate Dean
Mayo Medical School/Rochester

2520 Institute Rd. S.W.
Rochester, Minnesota 55902
507 284-3268
507 284-2634
viggiano.thomas@mayo.edu


Peter Weinstock MD PhD
Faculty Image

Associate in Critical Care Medicine
Director, Children's Hospital Boston Simulator Program
Harvard Medical School

300 Longwood Ave - MSICU Offices Bader 6
Boston, MA 02115
617-355-7327
617-734-3863
peter.weinstock@tch.harvard.edu


Curtis Whitehair, MD
Faculty Image

Assistant Professor
Residency Director
MedStar Health / Georgetown University

102 Irving Street NW
Washington, DC 20010
(202) 877-1627

curtis.l.whitehair@medstar.net


Terry Wolpaw, MD
Faculty Image

Professor of Medicine
Vice Dean for Educational Affairs
Penn State College of Medicine

Office of Medical Education
Hershey, PA 17033-0850
717-531-3876
717-531-3925
twolpaw@hmc.psu.edu



Testimonials

“The programs are not only developmental as a person, leader and educator, but they enable you to be bold while realistic, experimental yet persistent, and most of all to envision large change and implement it. The continued support (both of the program faculty and new colleagues) through friendship, advice and support is a critical piece of this as well.”

Joan A. Friedland, M.D., M.P.H., Associate Chief of Medical Care Line, VAMC, Houston, TX; Associate Professor in Department of Medicine & Center of Ethics and Health Care Policy and Chair of Committee for Education Development, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX.

Subscribe

Sign Up for HMI News